1. Skip to content

Woodhouse Parish Council

Serving the people of Woodhouse & Woodhouse Eaves


Clerk: Ann Irving
272 Forest Road, Woodhouse
Loughborough LE12 8UA

Tel: 01509 890050

Who we are & what we do

Local services
Your parish council can be the first point of contact for a whole range of services that the community receives e.g. street lighting, road maintenance, policing, waste collections, use of parish premises, play and sports facilities. It receives a small amount of its money from your council tax payments (less than £70,000 for 2014-15), and the rest comes from premises lettings and grants obtained for special projects. The parish council works closely with Charnwood Borough and Leicestershire County councils and consults the Leicestershire & Rutland Association of Local Councils for advice and guidance.

Local decisions
All parish councils work to national Government requirements. Residents here can elect up to nine parish councillors for four years. They meet monthly. Councillors choose a Chair and Vice-Chair each May, the start of a council year. All sign an Acceptance of Office form that binds them to a national Code of Conduct, and they all record details of personal and financial interests that might affect their council decisions. There is no pay or expenses.

Council Administration


The Council meets monthly except for January and August, usually on the first Monday. The Council Meetings page is where you will find Agendas and Minutes. The dates of meetings are set in May each year.


Our councillors are all elected, if you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do then please click here.


Our committees have specific tasks and can have delegated powers.

Parish Wardens & Helpers

Our Staff

All councils have a Clerk, who carries out the council decisions, ensures that decisions and actions are lawful, and gives advice and guidance to the councillors. Some councils combine the roles of Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer, but Woodhouse PC keeps them separate. Both posts are part-time. Government has strict regulations about how parishes spend money. A Government-appointed auditor checks our accounts each year and reports on how well managed they are. This council has a long history of successful external audit.

Parish Clerk

Ms A. Irving

272 Forest Road
LE12 8UA
01509 890050

Responsible Financial Officer

Mrs E Rowley

18 Windmill Rise
Woodhouse Eaves
LE12 8SG


Mrs Jean Mawby is our resident Caretaker and looks after the Parish Hall. Mrs Mawby also takes the bookings for the Parish Hall, Annexe and the new building and can be contacted on 01509 890 995

Annexe caretaker

Mrs Fran Godwin looks after the Annexe and the new building.